Devil’s Food

When I have to make a choice
between the delicious devil’s food cake
and Angel food cake, I’m at a loss to voice
my preference; I enjoy both the bakes.

Rich chocolate layer with rich
chocolate frosting makes me sigh
and scream like one bewitched.
The delight’s heady and high.

It takes you straight to heaven
without a trace of the devil.
The luscious cake’s god-given.
Now I know why it’s a baker’s marvel.

It is not one of sugary creamy excesses.
Pair the devil with a scoop of ice-cream
feel the excellent appeasing smoothness
you’ll no doubt forget the balance beam.

Devil’s Food

Leave a Reply

